Smiling faces at the 2011 INOV8 Coastal Classic finish line

DISPATCH FROM THE TRAIL // TRM writer Margaretha Fortmann // Coastal Classic, Royal National Park, NSW

Standing at the finish line of the 2011 INOV8 Coastal Classic, I came to the conclusion that trail running on 30km of pristine coastal trails can only have one effect on a runner: to leave a huge, infectious, satisfied smile on their face.

Here are the smiles and thoughts of some of this year’s happy finishers:

Steve Cunningham

Niall MacMullan

What I love most about trail running is that I have something to focus on underfoot – my mind is engaged at all times when I am out on the trails – Niall

Shona Stephenson

I love bouncing off stuff and flying through the bush. It is also very satisfying overtaking the boys on the downhill! When I am running on trails I am never bored – Shona

Richard Bettles

During today’s race I just looked at the ocean and forgot the pain. I feel lucky and honoured to be out here with likeminded people – Richard

Maite Dupuis

This was my first trail run but it has to be the most beautiful course I have ever run on! – Maite

Helen Watson

Andy Reynolds

Mark Beech

Right now I feel awesome! – Mark

Artie Sellings

The best word to describe how I feel right now is satisfied…and old! – Artie

Jason Hosking

Adi Torda and Ngaire van der Jagt

What I love most about trail running is the freedom I feel out on the trails, and the beauty of nature. Today’s run had it all: sand, mud, trees, fireflowers and ocean. It was one of the most scenic runs I have ever done! – Adi

John Murray

Adam Connor and Nick Lledo

What I love most about trail running is the challenge – Adam

Kate Johnson

It is just a lovely feeling running on trails – there is nothing better. I never want to run on the road again! – Kate

Alan Beasdale, Sue Feigler & Kevin Molloy

 What I love most about trail running is that off the road you can run when you are an old bugger – Kevin

Craig Mooy

The best way to describe how I felt at the finish line is elated – Craig

About trailrunmag

We're a dirty little mag. A dirty, dirty, filthy mag...About running. Off road, on trail, off piste, on earth. Trail Run Magazine is Australasia's only magazine entirely devoted to the dirty art of trail running. Through forests, up mountains, across deserts...as long as it's wild and dirty and there's scant hint of boring bitumen, we'll cover it. You want to know who's running up what mountain, who's winning which extreme event, what's the best short trail run just outside your town, what supplement will see you through that 100 kay killer, how to set up a training plan for the 4 Deserts you reckon you'll conquer next year, and what's the best pair of runners to tackle the TNF100? You'll want to subscribe to Trail Run magazine then... Go on, get dirty.

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

